For any questions about the State’s bike laws, or about your rights to the road, contact Minnesota bicycle crash attorney Daniel Brazil directly.
Right to the Road
- Under Minnesota statute 169.222, bicyclists have the same rights and responsibilities as drivers of motor vehicles.
- Bicyclists and drivers must yield the right-of-way to one another as they would any other vehicle on the road.
- No bicycle shall carry more persons than what they’ve been designed to carry.
- No bicyclist may cling to any car or vehicle while riding.
- Helmets are not required under Minnesota state law.
- Bicyclists cannot be charged with a DUI while operating a bicycle.
- Riding under the influence can lead to other charges, however, such as reckless endangerment or public intoxication.
- Nighttime riding requires a white lamp on the front and red reflector on the back of each bicycle.
- Electric-assisted bicycles that travel no more than 20 mph is considered a bicycle under Minnesota law.
- Persons must be at least 15 years of age to operate an electric-assisted bicycle.
- Bicyclists should ride no more than two abreast and should not impede the flow of traffic.
- Bicyclists should always pass cars on the left.
- Drivers must leave as much room as possible when passing bicyclists (at least 3 feet).
- Bicyclists should give audible signals before passing pedestrians.
- Bicyclists should give right-of-way to pedestrians.
- Bicyclists have the same rights and responsibilities as pedestrians when lawfully using sidewalks and crosswalks.
- Local laws may affect the use of sidewalks for cycling.
- Bicyclists should signal all turns and lane changes with their arms.
- The signal should be given continuously for the last 100 feet of the turn and while sitting at a stop waiting to turn.
Where to Ride
- Bicyclists should ride as close as practicable to the right-hand curb.
- Bicyclists should ride in the same direction as motor vehicles.